Thursday, 23 June 2016

SCIENCE FICTION REVIEW: Kenstibec 3: Rig - Jon Walace

Release Date: 16/06/16
Publisher:  Gollancz


A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper.

Barricade introduced artificial lifeform, Kenstibec. Steeple saw him reduced to the level of humanity. Now Kenstibec must fight his way to the home of the man who created him and the other Ficials. The man who tipped the world into war and sealed humanity's fate. Can Kenstibec win a future back for man?

Jon Wallace has written a series of short, high-action yet thoughtful SF thrillers. Controversial yet full of dark humour these are rewarding SF thrillers that echo the pleasures of noir and bring a sharp new perspective to British SF.


To be honest I spend a lot of time reading post-apocalyptic titles and whilst this is the third book in the series by Jon, I’ve had quite a lot of fun reading Jon’s work as I love the humour within which when blended with a host of characters that keep the world evolving make this something of a joy to sit down with.

As with previous outings, the prose is sharp, the dialogue wonderfully involving for the reader and when backed with a writing style that is addictive makes this a series that’s a joy to spend time around. Back this up finally with a good few twists, some cracking highs and lows and all round cracking concepts make this a series that’s a treat. Cracking.

No comments: