Monday, 17 December 2012

HUMOUR: T-Rex Trying - Hugh Murphy

Release Date: 08/11/12


"T-Rex Trying: The Unfortunate Trials of the Tyrant Lizard King" - the hilarious internet phenomenon, now a wickedly funny book. Perfect for fans of "Simon's Cat" and "The Book of Bunny Suicides", the collected struggles of Hugh Murphy's ill-adapted predator is the perfect stocking filler or gift for this Christmas. He might be top predator in the Jurassic kingdom, but in modern life, T-Rex's comically short arms doom him to hilarious failure. T-Rex has teeth the size of bananas and eats Triceratops for breakfast, but when it's time to brush his teeth ...T-Rex is 12 metres long and 4 metres tall, but somehow he just can't change that light bulb ...And you can just forget about the vending machine. Containing dozens of never before seen illustrations, "T-Rex Trying: The Unfortunate Trials of the Tyrant Lizard King" is the cute, quirky and laugh-out-loud funny collection of cartoons that will have across the board appeal this Christmas. Hugh Murphy is a 28 year old student at the University of Southern California, Ostrow School of Dentistry. Hugh began his career as an artist selling watercolour paintings of fish in order to pay for his applications to dental school, but has always enjoyed drawing and painting in his free time. He loves science, nature films, his wife, Sarah, and shark week. "T-Rex Trying" began as a joke between Hugh and his brother, and is his first book. Hugh and Sarah moved to Los Angeles from Boston in August, 2010.


I love a bit of comedy and whilst this originally started out as a humorous blog, the book of Hugh’s takes on a new light as we all laugh at the unfortunate condition of T-Rex and his short arms. What occurs within this book is a huge selection of every day tasks that most of us take for granted that poor ol’ T-Rex struggles to manage.

Add to the fun drawings that have a wonderful childishness about them that brings the humour across wonderfully and all round, with just a slight amount of colour, it really gives the reader a good chuckle. The only thing that I’d also have liked to have seen is how the author came up with each of the idea’s within, it would have broken the illustrations up a little and of course given the reader the chance to appreciate each cartoon fully.

1 comment:

Bob Milne said...

Can't say I've ever heard of the comic before but, as a HUGE Bunny Suicides fan, I may have to give it a read.