Saturday, 25 June 2011

URBAN FANTASY CRIME REVIEW: Curse Workers 2: Red Glove - Holly Black

Release Date: 16/06/11


Cassel has discovered the dark secret of his past, the secret that set him apart from his family. Now he must take his new knowledge and his new powers out into the world. A dark and twisting contemporary fantasy set in a beautifully rendered, subtly different world this is a wonderfully nuanced and involving fantasy, at once melancholy, ironic and terrifying. It is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman.


Having enjoyed Holly’s writing for years, it is with great delight when I read the first of the Curse Workers series last year, so when I had the chance to get ahead with the second book I really couldn’t wait, after all the world was inventive, there were great powers for the magic users and whilst there were huge benefits for utilising your power, many came with great costs.

Add to this a lead character who the readers can get behind, who whilst he’s unsure of himself to a certain degree as he knows that his powers were abused by family members, Cassel disguises his gift with humour as well as cunning. As usual with Holly’s writing, the pace is decent, the dialogue is addictive and when backed with mysterious overall arc it’s a series that will soon become ingrained in the readers psyche. Great stuff.

No comments: