Friday, 4 July 2014

CRIME THRILLER REVIEW: Inquest - Paul Carson

Release Date: 05/06/14
Publisher:  Arrow Books


The compelling new novel from the No.1 Irish bestselling author of Betrayal. Perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs, M R Hall and Benjamin Black. Dr Mike Wilson is a pathologist with a troubled past and a naturally suspicious mind. As the new Dublin city coroner, he is used to investigating violent, unusual or unexplained deaths. But one case worries Mike. A lot. Patrick Dowling was found hanging in woodland late the previous year. The investigation ended the moment the autopsy result was announced. Suicide. Dowling had been a drug addict with poor life expectancy. Case closed. Then Mike discovers that Dowling's file was on a previous coroner's desk. A man who was shot dead by an unknown gunman. Coincidence? Mike doesn't think so. But as Mike digs deeper, his life comes under threat. Then he and his family are attacked. Just how far is he prepared to go to uncover the truth?


I love a story that tries something different and for me this thriller by Paul Carson delivered as I was taken into an Ireland that had a realistic backstory that brought modern history to the fore alongside generating a read that was not only gripping but something that was nigh impossible to put down.

The prose was sharp, the key character someone that I was more than happy to share headspace with and all round allowed me to delve into something that I wouldn’t normally have given reading time to as I’m not really a fan of modern history. All round a great piece of writing and definitely an author I’ll keep an eye on for future releases.

No comments: