Friday, 25 October 2013

SCIENCE FICTION REVIEW: Poseidon's Children 2: On the Steel Breeze - Alastair Reynolds

Release Date: 26/09/13
Publisher:  Gollancz


It is a thousand years in the future. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships. The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks.


Ah, Science Fiction guilty pleasure time again for me as Alastair returns to the Poseidon’s Children series with a story told across light years that will thrill, fascinate as well as give the reader quite a bit to think about at the story unfurls. Its definitely something to take your time reading with so many different aspects within that will not only keep you glued but leave you wondering how the author manages to keep writing cracking epics in so short a space of time.

Add to this some wonderful prose, cracking dialogue and the wonderful use of clones not only generates something that will keep you reading from dawn til dusk but all round gives you something so unique you’ll notice more and more things in subsequent rereads. Great stuff.

No comments: