Monday, 2 December 2013

HISTORICAL FICTION REVIEW: Conquest 3: Knights of the Hawk - James Aitcheson

Release Date: 24/10/13
Publisher:  Preface Publishing


The third novel in the compelling Conquest series (1066: The Bloody Aftermath) from the author of Sworn Sword. Perfect for fans of Ben Kane. Autumn, 1071. The struggle for England has been long and brutal. Now, however, five years after the fateful Battle of Hastings, only a determined band of rebels in the Fens stand between King William and absolute conquest. Tancred, a proud and ambitious knight, is among the Normans marching to crush them. Once lauded for his exploits, his fame is now fading. Embittered by his dwindling fortunes and by the oath shackling him to his lord, he yearns for the chance to win back his reputation through spilling enemy blood. But as the Normans' attempts to assault the rebels' island stronghold meet with failure, the King grows increasingly desperate. With morale in camp failing, and the prospect of victory seeming ever more distant, Tancred's loyalty is put to the test as never before.


Ah I love spending time with the English Rebels who fought against William the First, holding out against his conquering of the British nation and perhaps no other author out there is tackling it in quite the way that James Aitcheson is. The book is wonderfully addictive, leaving the read exhausted from their reading sessions as that infamous “just one more chapter” phrase will echo around many a readers house.

But what makes it so addictive? Well first of all James’ prose will lulls you into a false sense of security with its relative simplicity and when you add some cracking twists alongside an author’s unique writing style and cracking dialogue all round makes this something pretty special.

No comments: