Monday, 23 December 2013

THRILLER REVIEW: Atlantis: Revelation - Marcus Blake

Release Date: 24/10/13
Publisher:  Penguin UK


Following in the tradition of Clive Cussler and Dan Brown comes Atlantis: Revelation, a rip-roaring adventure thriller by Marcus Blake, which takes us on a hunt for the legendary lost city. For millennia, mankind has searched for Atlantis - the ancient lost city, sunk without a trace - and found nothing more than myth. A young man drifts, unconscious, into a quiet Haitian harbour. He wakes to find he can only remember one thing - his name, Achilles. Helped by Marta, a beautiful smuggler, he begins a desperate search for his identity. But soon they are running for their lives, pursued by a covert government agency who will stop at nothing to track them down. The agency knows something Achilles doesn't: he is no ordinary young man. Soon, Achilles will find himself at the centre of a deadly game between two civilizations; the world above, and the world below. What if a place of myth, legend and fables...was real? This is Atlantis: Revelation. A stunning action adventure thriller revealing the secrets of Atlantis - this is The Bourne Identity meets The Da Vinci Code. Marcus Blake is the pen name of a critically acclaimed best-selling novelist. He lives in the UK.


If you love a thriller that’s a little different then you really should try this tale by Marcus Blake who brings the above world conspiracy to the world of myth and legend for the reader. Its wonderfully constructed, has just the right level of pace and when added to the fact that the principle player is suffering from memory loss all round allows the reader access to information as the character themselves gains it.

It translates ideally for the written page and when added to some top notch action, some solid twists alongside great interpersonal relations all round generates something that I had a hard time putting down. Great stuff.

No comments: