Tuesday, 18 November 2014

CRIME THRILLER REVIEW: The Victim - Kimberley Chambers

Release Date: 11/09/14
Publisher:  Arrow Books


This is the final instalment in the thrilling trilogy which began with The Feud and The Traitor - perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Jessie Keane. Life is looking bleak for Frankie Mitchell - not only has she lost custody of her two children to their sadistic, gypsy-bred father, Jed O'Hara, she is also pregnant and banged up in Holloway awaiting trial for attempted murder. In Frankie's absence, her father, underworld boss Eddie Mitchell, is determined to get his own back. He wants revenge not only for his daughter's imprisonment, but also for the death of his beloved wife, Jessica. Determined to get his grandchildren back home where they belong, Eddie plans the O'Haras demise slowly and precisely. But then he finds out a secret and learns the real reason why his daughter is in the slammer and all hell breaks loose. Essex had never seen anything like the bloodbath that followed, but were either family actually capable of winning this long running feud, or would they all become the victims of their own past mistakes?


Murder, death, mystery and of course characters that you can’t help but love to spend time with. Why?

Well they’re fully rounded and whilst this is the third book by Kimberly it’s one that shows how an author with the right combination can quickly entrench themselves not only into the readers minds but also their TBR pile. In addition to cracking characters the prose and pace work wonderfully well and all round I was more than surprised when I turned the final page. I can’t wait for the next book and to see what else Kimberley brings to the fore. Magic.

No comments: