Wednesday, 20 May 2015

FICTION REVIEW: Day Four - Sarah Lotz

Release Date: 21/05/15
Publisher:  Hodder


The trip of their dreams becomes the holiday of their nightmares: DAY FOUR is Sarah Lotz's extraordinary, unmissable follow-up to the book that made headlines around the world, THE THREE - perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost. Four days into a five day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship Beautiful Dreamer stops dead in the water. With no electricity and no cellular signals, the passengers and crew have no way to call for help. But everyone is certain that rescue teams will come looking for them soon. All they have to do is wait. That is, until the toilets stop working and the food begins to run out. When the body of a woman is discovered in her cabin the passengers start to panic. There's a murderer on board the Beautiful Dreamer...and maybe something worse.


Ok the second book by Sarah Lotz and whilst its billed as the sequel to The Three it’s a title that is only based in the same world rather than a follow on from the original. Whilst the change of prose was OK, I did leave wondering why the author changed her writing style from first to third person when it had worked so well with the original. Don’t get me wrong, the book si swell written and I loved the way that the description of the Cruise ship came across but for me the pace was sadly lacking for a certain amount only to speed up the closer to the end we got leaving me thinking that I’d have been happier as s reader if a certain amount had been glossed over to concentrate more on the build up.

All round, it is a solid enough title however at the end of the day, I was left feeling a little cheated with the book almost as if deadlines interrupted and the author didn’t have enough time to polish the book to the standard of Three. It is OK but at the end of the day following on from a successful release has to be hard for any writer. Here’s hoping that Sarah’s next book has a little extra time.

No comments: