Thursday, 30 April 2015


Release Date: 26/02/15
Publisher:  Hodder


*The Sunday Times TOP TEN BESTSELLER*. For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, HOLY SPY features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth, free Mary Queen of Scots - and open England to Spanish invasion. But the conspirators have been infiltrated by Sir Francis Walsingham's top intelligencer, John Shakespeare. Shakespeare, however, is torn: the woman he loves stands accused of murder. In a desperate race against time he must save her from the noose and the realm from treachery. And then it dawns that both investigations are inextricably linked - by corruption very close to the seat of power ...


I’ve really been enjoying Rory’s John Shakespeare series, and with this being the seventh in the series, the reader has come to expect certain things from each new release. Firstly they want to see the principle character tested, then they want a cracking plot and tied all up with great prose.

All that you get within this book but when you add the scale of research that has been done to keep the reader immersed in the world which when backed with an arc that keeps you guessing all round generates a story that is another great addition to the series. Magic.

No comments: